Tags

This blog will be about a specific artifact that I have been working on for my groups game project, Magic Writer.

Magic Writer is a game where the player plays as an wizard who is on vacation on a nice sunny beach somewhere. Al of the sudden, the beach is under attack from invading sea monsters and it is up to the magician to defend the beach and his vacation from these monsters. But since the magician is on vacation, he does not really feel like casting advanced magic, so he starts conjuring the first things that comes to his mind and throws them at the monsters.

For this project, I am the lead sound and that is what I am going to talk about. Featured image

As the lead sound it is my responsibility to find suitable soundtracks and sound effects for our game. It all depends on what feelings we want our game to convey

One of the things that I have been working on quite recently is the music track for the theme/background music. Originally I wanted  to use the main theme of “The Curse of Monkey Island” (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PMoxWi-9zpA) for our game, at first I felt that it gave the feeling that was looking for, but after a bit of thinking I realized that it was not exactly what I was looking for. It gave a me sense of adventure, and not that relaxing feeling that I was looking for. Besides, even if I had decided to use that melody, we probably would not have been able to as that song is copyrighted.

To describe the song I was looking for in a more precise manner, the song that I wanted had to give the feel of the Caribbean, the Polynesian islands or somewhere along the coast of Africa. A nice warm beach somewhere with foreign soothing music.

The method I have been using is by searching for sites that allow their users to download and use their soundtracks as long as they give credit for them.

Once a site has been found, I start listening through their archive in search of the most suitable soundtracks/sound effects.

After some searching I found the song “Zanzibar” on Royalty-free Music. Press link below to listen. I think the link works, I am new to google drive and blogging, just shout out if it does not work and I will see if I can fix it.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BwrJUkW2T4E_UFV2MmJKYWxhZG8&authuser=0

“Zanzibar” had what I was looking for, a somewhat soothing melody with drums, and it is inspired by Africa and the town of Zanzibar in Tanzania.